Bragi

You remain elusive to me, skald among skalds.
Preserver of history, knowledge, wisdom, myth.
Son of Odin and Gunnlod.
Get of Odhroerir.

I still remember how you came into my life. One night when I climbed into the branches of Yggdrasil to speak with Your Father. Whether you were waiting there or just popped up at the right moment I do not know. But the Old Man was insistent that I get to know you.

On that I have failed. It has taken me almost six years even to think about You long enough to write a post about You. And yet the influence is there. I write more. I’ve been published. I contribute regularly to a shared blog. My love for the past has grown.

I’ve even started to understand why You, Who helps to keep the past alive, are married to Idunna, Who helps the Gods to stay young.

Maybe one day soon I will even get a scan of the portrait of You and Your Lady which I had commissioned… and need to frame.

In some way You are with me every day. Let me remember and realize enough so that I may reach out to You more and we can finally build that relationship the Old Man seemed intent on us having.

This post is part of the Pagan Blog Project.

It is also my 200th post. Hail and nekhtet!

4 thoughts on “Bragi

  1. Beth, I’ll see if the piece fits in the scanner. At the least I can take a photo. And thanks Jo. :)

  2. Pingback: Full moon magics, April 2013 | Syncretic Mystic

Leave a Reply

