New reading material

is always a necessity in my world.

First, the Beltane issue of Rending the Veil is now live. I haven’t had a chance to really scan this issue yet, but I’ve often been impressed by the material here.

Yesterday, I got issues three and four of HEX magazine in the mail. Come May, I will be enjoying those, along with finally reading the first issue of Thorn magazine. I might also pick up the second issue of the latter then.

Continuing in the theme of things I haven’t had time to read yet, my dear friend Beth/Valgrind has posted an essay on Frigga to her blog. The Allmother does not have nearly enough time or written material devoted to Her.

Finally, a few things I have had time to read. Something about the overly technical nature of my reference class has had my brain itching for very in depth writing that said brain can chew on and consider for a while. I’ve enjoyed the last three books I’ve read: The Long Descent by John Michael Greer, Creole Religions of the Caribbean by Margarite Fernandez Olmos and Lizabeth Paravisini-Gebert (micro review: overview of Santeria/Lukumi, the longest chapter by far, Vodou, Palo, Rastafarianism, Obeah, and Espiritismo. Each chapter both looks at the practices as well as the general history of the faiths.), and am nearly finished with The Haitian Vodou Handbook by Kenaz Filan. I have more than a passing interest in Vodou (which is a post unto itself I’ve been stalling on writing), and was thrilled to find this, along with Creole Religions, in my local public library. Borrowed them both to make sure they stay in the collection (note: if your library carries books you like, borrow them! Good but uncirculated books will be taken out of collections after a time), and I am certainly going to pick up Filan’s to keep as a reference.

2 comments on “New reading material

  1. Thanks for the mention, as well as the heads-up on Thorn magazine, which I hadn’t heard of yet. Someplace else I can potentially submit work to!

    I really need to get my hands on a copy of Hex…

  2. Thorn also pays its contributors, which is awesome. Hex is also OR based. It’s a really gorgeous magazine, they use heavy stock paper and really nice ink.

    I miss Frigga. I miss Everyone. Can’t wait for school to be done for this portion.

Leave a Reply

