Missing the magic

I miss doing magic.
I miss rituals. I miss trance work. I miss playing with spell components to put together something. I miss being able to lounge and chat with my Gods and spirits.

There. I said it.

I knew when I became a student again that my free time would be severely curtailed. I even welcomes it, because I knew once I was done with the schooling I’d be able to launch into bigger things.
That doesn’t mean I can’t feel stifled along the way and wish I had more time for myself and the things I love. Which includes the relationship I have with my Gods and my spirits, and all the “mystic woo woo.”
For the next year or so, academia will remain the focus of my life. Once that is done though, I can move on to bigger and better jobs. This ties in quite well with one of my personal resolutions: to deepen my practices.

This is also not to say that all the magical and esoteric has been cut off from my life. I still sit in shrine daily (purity permitting), I still practice yoga, do soul alignments, draw runes daily and Tarot weekly, sometimes I even sit in meditation. Sometimes during those sitting periods I can even quiet my mind.

I have less than two weeks until my semester ends. Unless I wind up getting a class-wide extension in one class, which might happen, and I suspect I will use. But once Valborg and Beltane come, I am free until the beginning of June. That light at the end of the tunnel is getting brighter.

The other interesting part of this forced lull is that despite my not performing overt Work, things are still happening. One is relatively big, which I’m not ready to discuss publicly just yet. It’s more of a private thing anyway, and I’m not even sure how the whole situation is supposed to function.
My Gods are also not quiet. They let me know that They are around often enough. I’ve also figured out some more workings of my relationship with my ancestors. It’s good, yes indeed.

I’m going to try to put up at least one more blog post this month. Writing here is a great break from all the academic work, and there are a lot of ideas brewing again. I still welcome requests.

In the interim, here are a few books I have read recently which I enjoyed and want to pass on for your perusal.
Medicine for the Earth by Sandra Ingerman. If you’re looking for ways to take trance practice further but don’t know where to go, here is one possibility. Earth healing, granted with a more New Age feel which bothers me a bit. (Someday I will write up why I’m tired of the “spiritual but not religious” label which has become popular, and some of what was in this book stimulated some ideas there.) In any case, if you want to do some magical work to benefit the earth, look here.

Daughters of the Witching Hill by Mary Sharratt. If you have somehow not heard about this through the Pagan blogsphere, I’d be surprised. This is an EXCELLENT work of fiction, based in the last 1500s-early 1600s England, at a time when the religious clash is Catholicism and the Reformation. Folk magic, familiar spirits, miracles as a part of everyday life, the ups and downs of life, it’s all here.
I also had the pleasure of finally meeting Mary in person last month, after knowing her online for several years. It was a great day.

Occult America by Mitch Horowitz. I just finished this on Sunday. A chronicle of various alternative spiritual type of people in American history, starting in the Hudson Valley area in the 1700s. A lot of the people mentioned were more in line with Spiritualism and New Thought, but it does show how the country also developed into a landscape where the New Age and Neopagan movements also developed, fed in very fertile ground.

Leave a Reply

