Yes I am still here

I’ve been in a weird sort of shock for the last few days. That is what happens when you live in a state lacking a gun-loving vibe which then has a mass shooting. It only compounds my own inner tumult regarding my spiritual and magical work.

That said, I am planning to do the 12 nights of yule rune posts I have done for the last few years, commencing this Thursday on Mothernight.

In the meantime, check out this awesome short documentary about Pagans in Russia. They can’t even be reconstructionists or revivalists because they never had a break in their traditions. I’m trying not to squeal because I recognize so much of the practices in what I do with my own work.

5 comments on “Yes I am still here

  1. Fascinating!

    I saw some video clips of something similar back in ’04 at the Traditional Cosmology Society conference, where Aado Lindtrop presented on a group that is related to, if not identical with, these people. Their practices took place in either sacred groves or “prayer-houses,” and they included geese sacrifices (and sometimes other livestock), communal meals, and a lot of bowing and removing of hats at different points in the service.

    Also, the priests of this group and the shape of their hats remind me somewhat of Shinto priests…!?!

    All of the bowing that they do in prayers would be anathema, I’m sure, to many of the “never bow your head” Pagans and Heathens, I suspect…and yet, this tradition was never interrupted and is continuous from pre-Christian times, so there we are. πŸ˜‰

  2. Sufenas, what is this society you mention? Sounds like something right up both our alleys.

    Also, on bowing, when you’re Kemetic you learn to get over it fast because you better give a henu with your offerings. And some of the Gods will force you face down on the ground. Heh.

  3. The Traditional Cosmology Society–they’re based in Edinburgh, but are an international organization. While there are a few polytheists in the group, it’s an academic group, so it’s not quite as “whoopee!” as it might otherwise sound…

    I suppose a lot of the Heathens who (still) have a problem with such things would read about Kemetic practice and go “See? Those foreign Middle Eastern desert religions…” but who cares what they say, eh? πŸ˜‰

  4. Ah darn, academics take all the fun out of things. πŸ˜‰

    Also, with Kemet, once you remind them that it’s an *African* religion then you get a shiny new can of worms in which to play!

Leave a Reply

