An open letter – Pantheacon/ Pantycon 2015

Pantheacon has been over for about 48 hours now. I got home late last night. The problems and discussions began during the con itself. I am not feeling coherent enough to put events into my own words, so I will let my fellow Pagan Activist’s columnist, Shauna*, serve as words here.

Racism and Activism at Pantheacon.

Jonathan Korman has also written an open letter to the currently anonymous creator of this year’s Pantycon (for those who have not read Shauna’s recount, Pantycon is a parody newsletter which comes out during the weekend). I have co-signed it, along with others I respect, including my spiritual mother.

I am glad to see the details of what happened coming out so fast. In years past with such events, only pieces seem to have been available and that does not make for a fair dialog. If you weren’t there, or even at the event but not aware of the happenings, only knowing a little does not help the situations.

I’m also still kicking myself a little for not grabbing a copy of Pantycon when I had a chance.

I may or may not talk about this further for my next Pagan Activist post. In the meantime I’m going to get political and again voice my support for the letter, for the PoC community, and say #BlackLivesMatter.

*Who, outside of this, I got to meet in person for the first time during the con. Woot!

Leave a Reply

